Western New Brunswick

3143 Main St. Centreville, NB E7K 3E8

Service Commission

Board of Directors

Minutes of the April 17 Board Meeting -Via Zoom

In Attendance:

Chair, Tom Eagles, Mayor, District of Tobique Valley
Cindy McLaughlin, Mayor, Village of Southern Victoria
Andrew Harvey, Mayor of Carleton North
Mayor, Trina Jones
Lynn Hambrook, Chair, Western Valley Rural District
Steve Manuel, Supervisor, Lakeland Ridges
Stewart Fairgrieve, Deputy Mayor, Hartland
Rob Webber, CAO, Hartland
Dave McCain and Sarah Brown, Lenehan McCain Chartered Accountants

Regrets: Absent: Mayor, Tracey DeMerchant

Staff In Attendance:

Katelyn McGrath, CEO Andrea Callahan, Director of Operations (Recording Secretary) Joan Kennedy, Finance Manager

Call to Order:

The Chair, Mayor Tom Eagles called the meeting to order at 6:06 p.m. and welcomed all in attendance.

No conflict of interest was proclaimed by those in attendance.

Adoption of Agenda:

24-0-11

Motion: Resolved, "that the agenda be approved as circulated."

Moved: Supervisor, Steve Manuel **Seconded**: Mayor, Cindy McLaughlin

Motion Carried.

The presentation of the 2023 Draft Audit was given by Dave McCain and Sarah Brown of Lenehan-McCain Chartered Accountants.

Adoption of Draft Audit:

24-0-12

Motion: Resolved that, "the 2023 draft audit be accepted for delivery at the May 22, 2024,

AGM of the Western New Brunswick Service Commission."

Moved: Supervisor, Steve Manuel **Seconded:** Mayor, Trina Jones

Motion Carried.

WNBSC - Board of Directors Minutes of April 17, 2024 Meeting

Western New Brunswick

3143 Main St. Centreville, NB E7K 3E8

Service Commission

New Brunswick Building Official Association Request

Katelyn explained the proposed changes to the act and asked the Board of the WNBCS to approve submitting a letter on behalf of the WNBSC to the Department of Justice and Public Safety asking the Minister to reconsider the consequences of changing the act and the effect that it will have on public safety.

24-0-13

Motion: Resolved, "that the CEO compose a letter and send it to JPS regarding out

opposition to some of the proposed changes to the Act."

Moved: Mayor, Andrew Harvey

Seconded: RD Chair, Lynn Hambrook

Motion Carried.

CEO Report:

Katleyn reported that she has met with the Regional Health Advisory Committee and they have advised that the WNBSC spend some of the money received from the Department of Health to create a video to attract health care professionals to the Western NB Region.

Katelyn also met with Alyssa Long, Executive Director of the New Brunswick Medical Education Foundation to discuss potential scholarship opportunities that our region may wish to sponsor in the future to help keep or bring back area medical students to work in this region.

On May 1st and May 6th, Katelyn will be attending sessions for seniors that Minister Margaret Johnson is organizing to help inform our seniors what programs are available to them.

We will be attending volunteer/community fairs on April 17th in Plaster Rock and May 15th in Woodstock.

Katelyn reported that she is on an RSC working group that is working with a consultant to better enhance public communications regarding the RSC model and our function.

Western New Brunswick

3143 Main St. Centreville, NB E7K 3E8

Service Commission

Regarding solid waste, it is expected that educating our residents about the new recycling program will fall on the staff of the WNBSC, so Katelyn feels that we should collect some funds for doing the work. Circular Materials will pay the WNBSC approximately \$7000 to carry out this education piece.

Motion to go In-Camera

Moved: Mayor, Andrew Harvey **Seconded:** Mayor, Trina Jones

Motion Carried.

Motion to go In Open Session

Moved: Mayor, Andrew Harvey

Seconded: Mayor, Cindy McLaughlin

Motion Carried.

Mayor Trina Jones asked to have an update on the tourism file at the May 22 meeting, including a summary of any data collected regarding visitors to the Eclipse.

Motion to Adjourn at 7:04 p.m.

Moved: Mayor, Trina Jones	
Seconded: Mayor, Cindy McLaughlin	
Signed:	
Chair, Mayor, Tom Eagles	Secretary, Mayor, Trina Jones